Wandering Around St. Maarten

Our last, and most favorite stop, was in St. Maarten.

IMG_9025

St. Maarten is an island divided by two nations: a French side (Saint Martin) and a Dutch side (Sint Maarten). They are so split in two, they don’t even want to spell it the same. We visited the capitol, Phillipsburg, which is on the Dutch side.

Our visit to St. Maarten didn’t really go as planned. We tried really hard to book a snuba tour but there were only two spots left and we needed four. We even tried the wait list with no luck, so we decided to cancel our original tour (to a butterfly farm) and wing it since I really wanted to watch planes land at Maho Beach after hearing about it from my friend, Kate.

Maho Beach is a 30 minute cab ride from the port and right in front of an airport runway. Because the runway is so short, planes have to fly really low over the beach to ensure the wheels hit the runway as soon as possible. That makes plane watching extra interesting, especially when signs like this are posted.

IMG_9029

We hung out at the café on the beach all morning sipping Pina Coladas. I was starting to get a cold so I rationalized that those were the only things that felt good on my throat. Vacation logic. Hubs, Jimmy, and Linda ate lunch but I wasn’t hungry so I had more Pina Coladas to help my cold.

A lot of smaller planes land at the airport but the big ones are the most fun to watch, so the bar has a daily flight schedule posted so you know when they are coming in.

DSCF1504

After watching planes all morning from the beach café, we decided to get a little closer.

IMG_9044

See the plane approaching in the background?

This should be where I explain to you what Jimmy is doing. He decided at the beginning of the trip that he was going to pose like this for as many pictures as possible. He calls this pose “the erection.” So it was a delight when Linda would ask before someone took our picture, “are we going to do “the erection?” Always a crowd-pleaser.

Anyway, standing under those planes as they are passing over is a way different experience than watching from the café. It is freaky and cool. I took video of one of them but the video does nothing to capture the sound level and jet blast of a plane flying that close over you.

If you can’t see that video, you can click here too.

After watching planes all morning, we found a guy selling coconuts (illegally, because he ran when the cops drove by) and bought some.

IMG_9045

IMG_9046

Well, everyone did but me because I hate coconut water. But it was still cool to watch this guy machete a coconut like no one’s business.

After that we caught a cab downtown for some shopping.

IMG_9051

St. Maarten is known for its shopping. There were a ton of cute shops selling all sorts of touristy stuff. It was fun checking them all out. Plus, fun fact about St. Maarten – you can walk around outside with alcohol like in Vegas and New Orleans. Basically my dream.

Downtown was about two miles away from the ship, so we just slowly made our way back stopping in just about every store on the way. I was hungry since I didn’t eat lunch, so I made everyone eat lunch #2 with me. We stopped at this awesome little beach restaurant.

IMG_9057

IMG_9052

I wanted a cheeseburger in a bad way. So I ordered one because I’m an uncultured American. But I’m telling you, the burger was freakin’ amazing. (Hubs agreed.)  I was a little worried the waitress didn’t ask how I wanted it cooked, but apparently they only cook it one way: delicious.

Hubs, Jimmy, and Linda got this awesome beef plate so I ate that too because I like to eat off of other people’s plates.

IMG_9054

After lunch, we did some more shopping. I bought a bathing suit top and hubs bought some coconut rum with actual coconut pieces floating in it. Also, cigarettes were really cheap. (No, I didn’t buy them.) They were $17.99 a carton and $3.00 for a single pack. I think if I lived in the St. Maarten, I’d take up full-time smoking since it’s so cheap.

Oh, another interesting thing is that cigarettes had these giant warning labels all over them that we do not have in America.

IMG_9064

IMG_9065

I was explaining to the lady at the store that our warnings are very small and she was like, “so that’s why everyone points out those warnings out to each other.”

Anyway, we all loved St. Maarten. Jimmy was already planning his trip back while we were there. We commented on how nice all the locals were when we noticed on the license plates that St. Maarten is called The Friendly Island. They definitely live up to that. I would really recommend visiting if you have the chance.

DSCF1542

I can’t get over hub’s face in that picture. He INSISTED on being the goat.

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Wandering Around St. Maarten

  1. Great pics! Looks like a wonderfully relaxing day! Bummer about the cold, but you must be better by now? Glad it didn’t stop you from enjoying Pina Coladas! 🙂

  2. Victoria

    the wing it double pun is quite possibly my favorite line ever.

  3. Cigarettes on our resort in Cuba were 1 peso (so about $1.13) and were in a vending machine. Obviously I wanted to buy them for that reason. We have giant warning labels in Canada (with GRAPHIC pictures of lungs and other fun things) but even they don’t talk about sperm.
    I love The Erection and that is totally something my friends would do.
    When you said you went plane watching I feel like you were in Waynes World. I have always wanted to do that, purely because of that movie.
    Also I think everyone is doing the coconuts wrong. You are supposed to dump out the coconut water and fill them with alcohol.
    I think that’s all, but this post made me want to vacation with you.

    • Paula

      We need to make this happen. We can have all the fun and do all the erections and buy all the cheap cigarettes together. What? Oh, and I still have a picture to send you. 🙂

  4. Sounds like a fun island! That plane over the beach almost seems unreal- it’d be really interesting to get to experience that.

  5. Sounds like fun! Although I’m really glad you took that video of the plane because there is NO WAY I would be willing to actually experience that in person.

  6. Just looking at the plane photo nearly gave me a mild anxiety attack. That’s crazy!

Leave a comment