Everything Feels Like Burning

I got my first chemical peel today. And it was a lot faster and easier than I thought it would be.

There are several kinds of chemical peels and they range in intensity. I got the big daddy chemical peel because I thought…why not? I have a 4 day weekend. Let’s spend it inside picking at my own skin like Goldmember.

My friend Ali, from college, had a totally different experience with her chemical peel. (Click that link if you want to read about hers and see her sexy post-peel pic.)

I got my peel done at Reflections Dermatology in Baldwin Park (click on that link if you want to be annoyed by a Web site. Who does intros anymore? Lame).

IMG_0244

It seems the less deep the chemical peel penetrates the skin, the more preparation the dermatologist does beforehand (like extracting blackheads, facial scrubs, etc). Because I got the burn-your-face-off-enough-so-your-husband-won’t-kiss-you peel, it was literally only 2 steps.

  1. An alcohol pad was used to get all the oil off my skin.
  2. A bottle of thin liquid that smelled like formaldehyde was applied in layers to my skin with a cotton round until  the bottle was used up.

That’s it. It took maybe 30 minutes.

That thin liquid definitely burned. The dermatologist gave me a fan to fan myself while she was applying it to lessen the burn. When she was done, she told me not to wash my face for 4 hours unless I just couldn’t stand the burning anymore.

Honestly, the silk peel I got a few months ago there was way worse. There was a lot of steaming and poking and picking and it was really uncomfortable. (That’s what she said.)

I got some goodies to apply to my face over the next 6 days.

IMG_0247

The packets are for tonight and tomorrow night. (She said, “Those will burn. Use it anyway.” Looking forward to that.) There is also sunscreen for the daytime and a moisturizer for the nighttime.

Right now, I feel and look like I have a sunburn on my face, but it’s really not that bad.

Here’s me before the appointment:

IMG_0242

THIS is why I wear makeup no matter where I go and why high definition should have never been invented. Hopefully my fake eyelashes will distract you from my horri-skin.

Here’s me now:

IMG_0257

I’m sure the fun will come in the next few days when the dermatologist said I will “peel like a snake.”

I’ll post some pictures of my progress as I go. Has anyone else had a chemical peel? I have a good amount of friends who have and they have all had totally different experiences. Tell me about yours!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Everything Feels Like Burning

  1. Stacie

    Girl, you look great without make up!!! Seriously you do!!! Your face doesn’t look nearly as red as I would expect! I hope you are recovering well!! 🙂

  2. I think you look really really pretty without makeup. We’re our own worst critics though, right? 🙂

    • Thank you! That’s so sweet of you to say. And it’s so true we are our own worst critics. I’m going to have to post a glamour shot of myself soon after all the icky pictures I’m gonna post once my face is all healed. 🙂

Leave a comment